The First Nation communities play a big role in the Chilcotin Ark, as they are responsible for taking care of the environment they live and work in. In the Chilcotin Ark are different communities from different nations and we have listed the ones with territory in the Chilcotin Ark below.

Tsilqot’in Nation (Chilcotin)

The National government of the Tsilqot’in was established in 1989. It was established to represent and help the needs of the Tsilqot’in communities. Below are the Tsilqot’in communities within the Chilcotin Ark.

  • Tl’etinqox (Anaham)
  • Xeni Gwet’in (Nemiah)
  • Tsi Deldel (Redstone)
  • Tl’esqox (Toosey)
  • Yunesit’in (Stone)

Dakelh Nation (Carrier)

There is one community of the Dakelh Nation that is within the Chilcotin Ark. It is located in the western part of the Ark, including Tweedsmuir Park.

  • Ulkatchot’en (Ulkatcho First Nation)

St’at’imc (Lillooet)

The St’at’imc is formed from 11 communities, that are located from Bridge River to Harrison Lake and from the Fraser River to the Lillooet River. The communities situated in the Chilcotin Ark are listed below.

  • N’Quatqua (Nequatqua)
  • Sekw’el’was (Cayoose Creek)
  • T’it’q’et (Lillooet)
  • Tsal’alh (Seton Lake)
  • Ts’kw’aylaxw (Pavilion)
  • Xaxli’p (Fountain)
  • Xwisten (Bridge River)

If you’d like a link from The Chilcotin Ark to your First Nation community’s website: